In this entry
The short version
- Coins lock; only the empty positions spin again.
- Every new coin resets the re-spin counter, so rounds vary hugely in length.
- A full window wins the top tier the game attaches to it; most rounds end well short.
- 10 slots in our spec file name a Hold & Spin round, and 5 more run the same idea under another name.
- Trigger. Shadow Gods starts its Coin Feature when 6 or more coins land together (Springbok's preview).
- Lock. The triggering coins stay where they are. Only the empty positions spin again.
- Counter. The round starts with 3 re-spins and ends when they run out.
- Reset. Each new coin puts the counter back to 3, which is why rounds vary so much in length.
- Grand. Filling all 15 positions awards the Grand Bonus. Most rounds end well short of it.
How a Hold and Spin round works, step by step
- The triggerEnough coin symbols land on one base-game spin. Shadow Gods needs 6 or more, according to Springbok's preview; other games set their own number, and some add a separate trigger symbol.
- The lockThe coins that started the round stay where they landed until it ends. Every other position clears.
- The re-spinsOnly the empty positions spin. Shadow Gods gives 3 to start with.
- The resetAny re-spin that lands a new coin locks it and puts the counter back to the start. A round can be over after 3 empty re-spins, or run for many more if coins keep arriving.
- The finishThe round stops when the counter reaches zero or every position holds a coin. In most versions the prizes on the locked coins are then added up and paid; on Shadow Gods, a full window of 15 coins awards the Grand Bonus.
Hold and Spin is not the same as free games. A free-games round replays the whole reel set without charging a bet, while a coin round only re-spins the empty positions around locked symbols. Some slots, Shadow Gods among them, have both.
Free games, explainedShadow Gods and Crimson Castle: two documented versions
The two newest slots in our spec file both build on the mechanic, but Springbok documents them in very different detail.
Shadow Gods
The clearest example on paper. Springbok's preview gives the trigger, the starting re-spins, the reset rule and the full-window prize, which is why the plate above uses its numbers. The game also runs on 50 lines with a top award of up to 50,000x the bet per line (Springbok's figure). Springbok's press release says it arrives on 14 October 2026; it was not in the lobby when we checked on 9 October 2026. Its preview publishes no RTP or volatility label.
Crimson Castle
In the lobby since 30 September 2026. Its tile names a "Hold & Spin with Triggering Moon feature" on 10 lines with a medium volatility label, and Springbok's review adds an RTP of 95%. Our register holds no trigger count for it and no description of the Triggering Moon, so we do not guess; the game's help screen is the place to check.
Hold and spin slots at Springbok
These are the hold and spin slots at Springbok in our spec file: games whose lobby tile or Springbok review names a Hold & Spin (or Hold and Spin) round. They are examples from 44 spec sheets; the lobby holds 244 slots in all.
10 of the 44 slots in our spec file name a Hold & Spin feature
- Crimson Castle
- Treasure Sparks
- Winnie the Piggie Las Vegas
- Liberty Rockets
- Coyote Cash 2
- Bass Baggin' Bounty
- Prosperity Pots: Lucky Coins
- Blazing Horse – Huǒ Mǎ Zhāo Fú
- Buffalo Mania: Thunder Springs
- Planet Of The 'Roos
Examples from Springbok's lobby tiles and reviews, read 9 October 2026, not a complete list.
A further 5 titles run the same lock-and-re-spin idea under their own names:
5 of the 44 slots in our spec file run a coin re-spin feature under another name (Coin Feature, Fortune Link, Gold Coin, Jackpot Diamond Re-Spins)
- Shadow Gods
- Fortunate Buddha
- Plentiful Treasure
- Diamond Fiesta
- Big Cat Links
Examples from Springbok's lobby tiles and reviews, read 9 October 2026, not a complete list.
The round turns up on three-reel classics such as Liberty Rockets, on ways games such as Coyote Cash 2 and on payline games such as Treasure Sparks, whose tile adds three scatter collectors. For one of them in full, see the Treasure Sparks slot page.
Same round, different names
Game makers brand the feature differently, and the details shift with the name. Here is what Springbok's pages say about each version that comes with specifics, quoted from our register:
| Game | Round | What Springbok's pages say | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shadow Gods | Coin Feature | Coin Feature on 6+ Coins: 3 re-spins, reset by each new Coin. Grand Bonus when all 15 positions fill with Coins. | Springbok preview |
| Planet Of The 'Roos | Hold & Spin | Hold & Spin on 6+ 'Roo Coin bonus symbols: 3 re-spins and four jackpots including the Grand. | Springbok figure |
| Big Cat Links | Fortune Link | Fortune Link on 6+ gold coins; filling all 15 positions wins the Super Grand. | Springbok review |
| Diamond Fiesta | Jackpot Diamond Re-Spins | 6+ Diamonds trigger the Jackpot Diamond feature with 3 re-spins. Starts on 5x3 reels and can expand up to 8x4 during the Jackpot Diamond feature. | Springbok review |
| Treasure Sparks | Hold & Spin | Hold & Spin with three Scatter collectors (Mystic Spark, Twin Boost, Extra Sparks). | Lobby tile |
| Buffalo Mania: Thunder Springs | Hold & Spin | Geyser Eruption Expansion, Free Games, Hold & Spin with Wild Stampedes. | Lobby tile |
Every version with a published trigger asks for 6 or more coins, and every published starting count is 3 re-spins. Diamond Fiesta varies the formula: Springbok's review says its reels can grow during the feature, giving the coins more room to land.
The register also holds one conflict here. Big Cat Links' lobby tile lists a Super Grand above the Grand, and Springbok's review says a full window wins it, while Springbok's press release names only four tiers, Mini to Grand. We show both rather than pick one.
Mini, Minor, Major and Grand: the jackpot tiers
Many coin rounds hang named jackpots on special coins or on a full window. 12 of our spec sheets list tiers such as Mini, Minor, Major and Grand. The names rank the prizes from smallest to largest; they say nothing about how often each one lands.
Whether a tier is a set multiple of the bet or a pool that grows depends on the game. The tiles of Big Cat Links and Fortunate Buddha mention progressive jackpots alongside their Fortune Link rounds. This site never quotes jackpot amounts: on progressive games they change by the minute. How a jackpot shared across a network differs from one held by a single casino is covered in the local random jackpot entry.
What the round does to the maths
The reset rule is what makes Hold and Spin gripping to watch: every new coin buys more time, and a round that looked finished can come back. In the game's maths, though, the round is just one slice of the RTP. Its average value is paid for by the base game, which returns less on ordinary spins to fund the feature.
Two consequences follow. Most rounds end well short of a full window; the Grand is the rare far end of the range, not a typical result. And no spin brings the round closer: the coins needed to trigger it are drawn fresh every time, so a long wait does not make it due. Because so much of the return can sit inside the round, check the game's volatility label before you settle on a stake.
Spinning on "until the coins come" is how budgets disappear on these games. Set the session's budget first and stop when it is gone. Winners know when to stop: free, confidential help is on 0800 006 008 or WhatsApp 076 675 0710.

See it in action
Crimson Castle
- 5×3
- 10 lines
- Medium volatility
Crimson Castle has been in the lobby since 30 September 2026, and its tile pairs a Hold & Spin round and a Triggering Moon feature with 10 lines and a medium volatility label. Open its help screen first to see how many coins start the round, then watch each new coin reset the count. Lobby tile
Play Crimson Castle at Springbok18+ · Practice mode or real money
100% up to R1,500 on the first deposit
SPRINGBOK100- Wagering
- 30x deposit + bonus (T&Cs default)
- Max cashout
- Not stated
- Min deposit
- R25 (Springbok blog; not stated on the promotions page)
18+. Enter the code in the cashier's Redeem Coupon box before you deposit. Offer source
Questions readers ask
What is Hold and Spin in slots?
How do you trigger Hold and Spin?
What happens if you fill the whole screen?
Which Springbok slots have Hold and Spin?
Is Hold and Spin the same as free spins?
Sources
Last checked 9 October 2026. Each figure on this page was read from the pages below on that date.
- Springbok game lobby (slot tiles), read logged out
- Springbok game preview: Crimson Castle
- Springbok game preview: Treasure Sparks
- Springbok game preview: Winnie the Piggie Las Vegas
- Springbok game preview: Liberty Rockets
- Springbok game preview: Coyote Cash 2
- Springbok game preview: Bass Baggin' Bounty
- Springbok game preview: Prosperity Pots: Lucky Coins
- Springbok game preview: Blazing Horse – Huǒ Mǎ Zhāo Fú
- Springbok article on its high-roller bonus
- Springbok press release: Planet Of The 'Roos
- Springbok game preview: Shadow Gods
- Springbok game preview: Diamond Fiesta
- Springbok game preview: Big Cat Links
- Springbok promotions page
